Indecision

So things were going along smoothly with the vacation home purchase and we were on track to close by Dec. 30.  Then yesterday I was hit with a little surprise – the current owners had their contract fall through on two different offers, so now they need to remain in the house as tenants.  Ugh!! I was so excited to get in the house and start fixing it up – especially since my office is closed through the holidays.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do.  On the one hand, I can charge them a hefty rent and get a few months of mortgage paid. On the flip side – they’re not the cleanest nor most responsible home owners.  I’m really not keen on messy people living in a house that I own.  Also, my insurance rate will need to be increased if I have full time tenants. Such a pain in the butt to have to deal with that! Any advice would be greatly accepted!

Leave a Reply

